Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Pumpkin Spice Sugar Cookies November 4, 2011

Filed under: Cookies,Frosting,Recipes — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 12:29 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Have to apologize for my absence, I have no excuses for not posting these cookies sooner besides sheer laziness. Cold weather does that to me. It also puts me in a slump which makes me in horrible mood. But what would turn my mood around is one of these spicy cookies and big hot mug of tea! I found this recipe from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen on FoodGawker and I instantly thought well aren’t those the cutest things ever (oh how I wish I could decorate cookies like that)! I grumbled a little bit that they were frosted, to me frosting belongs on cupcakes not cookies, but I reminded myself that they were sugar cookies. I didn’t frost the batch that I did because I was already having a bad day in the kitchen (should have run when I dumped the pumpkin pie spice all over the floor) but next time I will try it with the frosting. These cookies have a nice mellow spice taste to them that is not too overwhelming, they crunchy with a slight soft center. The only complaint I had to add almost another 1/2 cup of flour to them in order to get them to roll out. You can find the recipe here and I also posted it below.

Ingredients

Pumpkin Spice Sugar Cookies

Source: Sweet Pea’s Kitchen

Cookies:

2 c. Flour

1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder

1/2 teaspoon Salt

2 teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice

16 tablespoon (2 sticks) Butter, softened

1 c. Sugar

1 tablespoon Brown Sugar

1 Egg

1 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

In a medium bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and pumpkin pie spice, set aside.

In your stand mixer bowl cream the butter, sugar and brown sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy. Scrape sides of the bowl as needed, will take about  3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla, beat at medium speed until combined. Add in dry ingredients and beat on low-speed until just combined, scrap sides of the bowl as needed. Shape into a disk and wrap tightly with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Remove dough from refrigerator onto a lightly floured surface. Let the dough sit at room temperature for about 10 minutes.

With rolling-pin, roll dough out to 1/4 inch thickness. Use cookie cutter to cut out cookies, placing on prepared baking sheet.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Place cookie sheet with cookies in the refrigerator for at least 15 minutes. Bake cookies for 8-9 minutes until edges are just ready to turn the slightest bit light brown. Cool on wire rack before decorating.

Can't believe we don't own pumpkin cookie cutter!

Icing:

4 c. Powdered Sugar

1/4 c. and 1 tablespoon Cream

1/2 c. Butter

2 teaspoon Vanilla

In a saucepan over medium heat, heat cream and butter until butter is melted. Stir in vanilla and sugar. Remove from heat, and beat with electric mixer until smooth and thick.

Icing sets up very quickly , if it becomes hard to work with, place in microwave for 10-15 seconds and it will re-soften and be smooth again.

*As always, please check out the original recipe over at Sweet Pea’s Kitchen and the pictures posted in this post our mine!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.