Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Creamy Chocolate Frosting June 12, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 10:06 pm

This past weekend I was off of work and it was cold, rainy and just plain nasty outside. So, I decided to try out a recipe that I have been wanting to try for a while now. These cupcakes remind me of my Grandma’s Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (minus the oatmeal) and I was really excited to try the recipe out.  The recipes come from this book. I found this book at my local Schuler Bookstore and instantly fell in love with it. After about 10 minutes of arguing with my frugal mind I decided to spend the $20 on it. I have only made one other recipe from it so far but I am sure I will be sharing more with you sooner or later.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

You start off with a basic yellow cake recipe or if you are in a hurry a boxed mix will do. Here is the recipe I used.

2 1/3 c. all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 c. butter, softened

1 1/4 c. sugar

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 c. milk

2 very ripe bananas

3/4 c. mini. semisweet chocolate chips

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Place paper baking cup in each of 24 regular-size muffin cups. Grease and flour muffin cups or spray with baking spray with flour (I didn’t do this and they turned out fine).
  2. In medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl (I use my kitchen-aide bowl and mixer), beat butter with electric mixer on medium speed 30 seconds. Gradually add sugar, about 1/4 cup at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping bowl occasionally. Beat 2 minutes longer. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. On low-speed, alternate adding flour mixture, about 1/3 of the mixture at a time, and milk, about 1/2 at a time, beating just until blended.
  4. Blend in mashed bananas. Stir in miniature chocolate chips.
  5. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups, filling each about 2/3 full.
  6. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Frost when fully cooled.

The frosting recipe I used also came from the Betty Crocker the Big Book of Cupcakes. 

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

1/2 c. butter or margarine, softened

3 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate, melted and cooled

3 c. powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

3 to 4 tablespoons milk

  1. In large bowl (again I used my kitchen-aide), mix butter and chocolate. Stir in powdered sugar. Beat in vanilla and milk until smooth and spreadable. If frosting is too thick, beat in more milk, a few drops at a time. If frosting becomes too thin, beat in a small amount of powdered sugar. Frosts 24 cupcakes.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Notes: Cupcakes are delicious without the frosting. I enjoyed mine better hot out of the oven with a cold glass of milk then with the frosting on it. The frosting is not very chocolatey tasting to me. Makes way more frosting then just for 24 cupcakes. I used 3 bananas rather than 2, they were very moist but still baked up nice. Also, all pictures above are my property and the recipes belong to Betty Crocker.

 

Leave a Reply

