Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Fluffy White Frosting July 13, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 6:19 pm

This frosting is very light and fluffy (you probably guessed that from the title) reminds me of a meringue almost, my sister says the texture is like foam. I suggest it if you aren’t looking for something super flavorful and heavy. The first time I made this frosting I over cooked the syrup and when the frosting set it dried shiny and was super sticky. It reminded me of marshmallow fluff, LOVED IT!

Fluffy White Frosting

2 large egg whites

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. light corn syrup

2 tablespoon water

1 teaspoon vanilla

Ingredients

Let egg whites stand at room temperature 30 minutes. In medium bowl, beat egg whites with mixer on high-speed just until stiff peaks form.

In 1-quart saucepan, stir sugar, corn syrup and water until well mixed. Cover; heat to roiling boil over medium heat. Uncover; boil 4 to 8 minutes, without stirring, to 242°F on candy thermometer or until small amount of mixture dropped into a cup of very cold water forms a firm ball that holds its shape until pressed. For an accurate temperature read tilt saucepan.

Syrup

While beating constantly on medium speed, pour hot syrup very slowly in thin steam into egg whites. Add vanilla; beat on high-speed about 10 minutes or until stiff peaks form.

Frosts 24 cupcakes. Can be stored tightly covered in the refrigerator up to 2 days. Do not freeze.

Fluffy White Frosting

Notes: Recipe is from Betty Crocker. All Pictures on this recipe were taken by me (please don’t take them!). Next time I make this recipe I will over cook my syrup again, I just think it makes a better frosting.

 

Leave a Reply

