Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Taco Lasagna August 21, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes,Recipes — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 8:58 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I can’t even remember where this recipe originally came from. I have been using it for probably close to eight years now. I believe this is my baby sister’s favorite dish. I don’t make it very often, I am not sure why, it isn’t hard! Once in a while I get the, “R, will you please make taco lasagna, please?!” It is a quick and easy (also extremely filling) dinner.

Taco Lasagna

Ingredients

1 lb. hamburger

1 med. onion, chopped

1 (1.25 oz.) envelope of taco seasoning

1 (16 oz.) can of refried beans or black beans

8 tortillas

1 (8 oz.) bag of shredded cheese, your choice

Toppings: Lettuce, Tomato, Sour Cream, Salsa etc.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray.

Cook hamburger and chopped onion in large skillet over medium heat until both are browned.

I used ground venison for this batch, since it is a lean meat I used a bit of bacon grease in the pan so my onion got extra brown.

Lower heat and add the envelope of taco seasoning, stir throughly. Then mix in the beans and heat until beans are warm.

Place 2 tortillas (I use the fajita sized ones I think they fit best) side by side in the 9×13 pan. Smooth a layer of the meat mixture across the tortillas and sprinkle with cheese (I used a mexican blend and pepper jack).

Layers should look somewhat like this.

When you place the last 2 tortillas on top sprinkle them with the remaining cheese. Bake at 350°F for 10 to 15 minutes or until the tortilla edges are golden brown and crispy.

Like so...

Let cool for about 5 minutes and cut into quarters (so you should get 8 pieces). Top with your favorite taco toppings and enjoy!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

