Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Banana Bread September 10, 2011

Filed under: Breads,Recipes — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 9:40 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s no secret  that I love carbs, yes I am probably the only one that will admit this. But as a person who considers garlic bread to be their favorite food I think it is only in my best nature that I embrace my love of carbs. Banana bread ranks up there on my list. There is just something about the combination that is irresistible and you can change it up how you like it too. Nuts or no nuts, change the spices around, lots of banana or a little banana. I came across this recipe in an old girl scout cook book that I am sure my mom picked up at a garage sale somewhere. It was pretty basic with no spice, I changed it up a bit and added some things to it and extra bananas. Today when I baked it was like heaven smeared with butter! It has never came out better. So here is my recipe =D

Banana Bread

Ingredients

2 1/2 c. flour

1 2/3 c. sugar

1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 c. buttermilk*

2/3 c. vegetable shortening, melted

1 1/4 c. bananas, mashed*

2 eggs beaten

2/3 c. chopped nuts*

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour 2 loaf pans, set aside. Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add buttermilk, shortening and bananas, beat two minutes. Add eggs and beat for another two minutes. Stir in cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. Split batter between your two loaf pans (they should be about 3/4 of the way full) bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

This recipe makes two loaves.

* Notes: If you do not have buttermilk on hand please do not freak out! Simply mix your milk with a little bit of lemon juice and let sit for 5 minutes. The recipe calls for 1 1/4 c. bananas but I use about 1 1/2 cups and just increase my bake time slightly, the more bananas the moister your bread will be.  As for the nuts I always use chopped walnuts but you can use whatever you like, my grandma makes hers with pecans and it’s wonderful! I also used a McCormick cinnamon and sugar grinder to top my loaf and each of my muffins! And as always please don’t steal my pictures!

 

3 Responses to “Banana Bread”

  1. Oh I love carbs too. The only problem is that they make you fat so I’m trying to find alternatives 😛 Banana bread is awesome though, I eat quite a lot of it :D. I was going to mention banana muffins – I made some this week, shall have to blog them at some point.


Leave a Reply

