Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Yummy In My Tummy Granola October 6, 2011

Filed under: Recipes,Snacks — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 7:45 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, I have been eating this stuff for a few weeks now and I just absolutely love it and it is so easy to make! I pack a Greek yogurt and this granola for my breaks at work and it is like some kind of super food. It fills me up and keeps me full (may have something to do with the 14 grams of protein in the yogurt) it does great holding me over until lunch time. Anyways I took this recipe for Happy Trails Granola that I saw on Sunny’s show one day and tweaked it to my liking.

The Done Deal

Ingredients

1/2 c. Maple Syrup (100% pure)

1/4 c. Vegetable Oil

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

3 c. Old Fashioned Rolled Oats

3/4 c. Raw Almonds

1 c. Sunflower Seeds (the kernels, raw or the salted roasted ones work)

1/4 c. Brown Sugar, packed

Pinch of Kosher Salt

2 Eggs Whites

1 c. Dried Cranberries (I like the blueberry flavored ones the best)

Ingredients

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. In small saucepan of medium heat, whisk together the syrup, oil and cinnamon. Cook until it just starts to bubbles. Remove from heat and cool slightly (I find that if I do this then put the rest of the ingredient together it is cooled enough to add). In a large bowl, add oats, almonds, sunflower seeds, brown sugar and salt, mix together. Pour in the syrup mixture and toss well. Whisk the egg whites to combine. Pour over the granola and toss well. Evenly spread the mixture onto your baking sheets. Bake until golden brown, turning several times so it doesn’t burn. About 35 to 40 minutes. Once it is completely cool add the cranberries.

Getting It's Tan On

 

2 Responses to “Yummy In My Tummy Granola”

  1. Hubert Davis Says:

    I’m gonna try this one. It seems good and I already eat Greek yogurt everyday so I might as well make it taste good.


Leave a Reply

