Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Think Pink October 21, 2011

Filed under: Rambles — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 8:16 pm

The first week and half to two weeks of October felt a little more like June with temperatures in the high 70s to low 80s so I have enjoyed October more the usual. But now that the temperatures have dropped to the mid 40s and the weather has turned rainy and very windy it actually feels like fall around here I was able to realize that it was October! October is Breast Cancer awareness Month if you did not already know. I am a proud supporter of breast cancer research, pink is my color for the month. My grandmother, Aunt Peggy and my Aunt Shelley have all been diagnosed with breast cancer. So being a supporter of finding a cure is something I do not take lightly. This year I took a moment to reflect on how much these three ladies mean to me.

My grandmother, well she’s my grandma! I cannot imagine my life without her. She is a strong woman, she raised 7 children 5 of which were boys. That takes a strong woman. She was the first in the family to have breast cancer. It was devastating for the family. When she started chemotherapy I promised her if she lost her hair I would shave my head and we’d be bald together. Now 8 years later she is still cancer free and she never lost her hair.

My Aunt Peggy was diagnosed a few years after my grandmother. She is my Godmother so I basically think of her as another mother, most people say we act a lot a like (I have her nose). She is my grandma’s oldest, my dad’s big sister. It came as a shock to everybody once again. She had the usual radiation and chemo. and is also cancer free still.

My Aunt Shelley is my dad’s sister-in-law and one of the funniest people I know. Love this woman to death! Her breast cancer was a bit more severe then grandma’s or Aunt Peg’s. She is missing a bit of her girls (as she’d call them). But she is strong none the less. She had a biopsy done a lump this year but it came back as scar tissue so we can say that she also is cancer free!

I love to be able to say that my family members are now cancer free but I mourn for the those that have lost loved ones to this disease. Remember to always have your yearly exams and do monthly self breast exams. If you are uncomfortable doing this remember that things we do for our health are not always fun. I touch my breast because I care about me!

It is easy to donate for the cure. During October (even year around) you can find many cute pink items that when purchased a certain percentage of the proceeds are donated to find a cure. Send your pink Yoplait yogurt tops in and they will donate 10¢ per lid to Susan G. Komen (you can even redeem your lids online now). You can also donate directly to Susan G. Komen here.

 

Leave a Reply

