Ramblings of Random Rashawn

just a bit of everything

Chocolate Reese’s Cookies November 5, 2011

Filed under: Cookies,Recipes — ramblingsofrandomrashawn @ 10:49 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

When I came across these cookies on The Faux Martha I automatically thought of Halloween. So I made a batch of these on Halloween and they are delicious! A bit of a pain in the butt to make but I think that is easy enough to change. These cookies call for being made into a log and froze and then sliced and baked. Well, I did this and my Reese’s Pieces didn’t stay whole and pretty, they were really hard to slice! So my solution, I will be making drop cookies with these next time. The cookie dough spread quite a bit when baked making them very crunchy. I hope that making drop cookies with my smallest scoop they won’t spread so far and maybe have a bit of softness to them. A girl can only hope, right?!

Ingredients

Chocolate Reese’s Cookies

Source: The Faux Martha

1 1/4 c. Flour

1/3 c. Cocoa Powder (she used dark and I used regular)

1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder

11 tablespoon (1 stick plus 3 tablespoon) Butter, softened

2/3 c. Brown Sugar, packed

1/4 c. Sugar

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1/4 teaspoon Salt

5 oz. Reese’s Pieces (I used 1 and 1/2 4 oz. boxes)

Sift together flour, cocoa, and baking soda in a medium bowl

Using electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until smooth (but not fluffy). Add both sugars, vanilla and salt, beat until fluffy.

Add flour mixture beat until just blended (mixture may be crumbly). Add in the Reese’s Pieces and mix until distributed (if dough doesn’t come together, knead lightly in bowl to form a ball).

Place dough on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Roll into a 1 1/2 inch diameter log. Chill until firm (3 hours in the fridge or 30 minutes in the freezer).

Preheat oven to 325°F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Using a sharp nice, cut log crosswise into 1 inch thick rounds. Space 1 inch apart on prepared cookie sheet. Bake cookies for 11-12 minutes, or until they look dry. The cookies will not have firm edges. Transfer to wire rack and cool.

Cookies!

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Chocolate Reese’s Cookies”

  1. these look a little bit dangerous 😀

  2. kat Says:

    Yum!! I still have some Halloween candy leftover, so I’ll definitely be thinking of making these! They look great!

  3. OMGosh! These are so good! I found a bag of Cherry Cordial M&Ms yesterday and I am going to make these with those!


Leave a Reply

